Panama is a parliamentary republic. The vote is granted to all citizens over the age of eighteen.

The current president of the Panamanian Republic’s Juan Carlos Varela. He was elected May 4th, 2014 for 4 years.

Panama has five Indigenous tribes (Guna Yala, Embera, Wargandi, Ngobe Bugle and Madugandi) that are influential in the provinces and have inalienable rights.

Government members are appointed by the President. The parliament consists of a National Assembly.